Things will always change

Jari
3 min readJul 15, 2020

--

People have always told me “people never change” but I’m believe that not to be true…I have changed a lot and so have the people around me. Just because we don’t change the parts of about ourselves that other people notice doesn’t mean we haven’t changed. The qualities I love and hate about the people around me are the same things that I see in myself. Whether or not those characteristics change does not mean they are not changing. There are a lot of factors that can bring out change in a person.

Like moving out of your parents home! Your surroundings directly affect our mental health and physical health, which is always changing. It is normal to lose and gain weight from one month to another. And its normal to feel sad and happy all in one day.

Image via New York Times

I have always been afraid since I have graduated from college that have not been changing toward the direction I want. But also come to realize I have grown out of the environment I am in and there is no more room for growth. I crave to live on my own and have the opportunity to take control in my life by exercising more, eating better foods and possibly seeking help from a therapist in peace. My lack of motivation is a direct result from the environment I live in, I can’t manage my life under the guidance of people who cannot run their own.

I’m in a need of change and I’ve been on the cusp of taking a leap of change in my life for awhile now and I’m tired of waiting so I’m taking action. As they say “with challenge comes change.”

At the beginning of this year, I couldn't even look at my bank statements because I knew I had unhealthy spending habits and relationship with money. Living at home paying no rent and having no real responsibilities besides paying my lowest amount on my credit card and student loans, was not helping me. I completely ignoring all my troubles instead of facing them. For 6 months I was living from paycheck to paycheck for no reason. This year I had to do better and set myself up for a better financial future if I really wanted to change. I’ve had a lot of unlearning to do and quarantine has let me settle down look at my finances and pay of things before I take the leap to move out with someone. Being financial stable during this pandemic has truly been a blessing. Ive been able to save some money, paid most of my debt and I actually feel ready to take that leap.

Gif via Giphy

How will moving out change me?

I don't’ know yet because I haven’t reached that part in my story but each day, I’m feeling closer and closer to my dream life.I now look forward to change and I'm becoming less afraid to fail and make mistakes. There’s a lot of reasons why and I’ll be starting a once a week series of things I have been changing in my life and how i think it will change my future.

--

--

Jari

Learning to truly give indulge in the things I love and care about. Each day is step towards my future, I just need to push myself there.